16.2.16 #youarewhatyoueat

Skills and intensity were the focus for this evening, with plenty of pull up practice, and a workout that resembled the dreaded ‘fran’. 

  
Mentions for this evening for Joe, Owen, Max and Jack the youngsters are definately making incredible improvements ready for the #crossfitopen and I’ve got a feeling that they are going to make immense impacts on their #ccf2affiliatecup team. 

Also big mention for momma, and papa Doff who demolished the WOD with master Doffy for getting the quickest time of the day. 

Finally a massive shoutout for Holly who hit 8 unbroken Ctb pull ups and managed to complete all the pull-ups in less that 2 sets and will definately smash the #crossfitopen as pulls up always play a big part.

  
WOD 

A) pull up practice

B) 21-15-9

Front squat

Pull up
There have been a few questions in recent months regarding how, what, when to eat. My personal opinion is, as a rule of thumb keep your diet a clean as possible, following the real food pyramid of lean meats & fish, veggies, fruits, natural fats and oils, nuts and seeds. 
However as athletes take their training and nutrition further, they want to know what diet to follow. My opinion is diets should be followed as a lifestyle, with the general long term goal of longevity and health with purposeful, performance supported short term goals (losing weight, gaining weight, anti-inflammatory) built in.
Should I be following paleo, zone, caveman? 

Basically there is no pin point answer I can provide, it is down to personal preference. There are plenty of them out there and I would encourage you to experience as many as possible until you find the right one for you. 

I personally keep it pretty general, trying to eat as clean as possible (not always successfully 😉), but what has been very successful for me is using my fitness app. This allows me to enter all my basics and short term goals and it provides a daily calorie average as well as a break down of my macro nutrients (proteins, carbohydrates and fats). This then allows me to track the macro value of all the foods I am eating. 
When to eat is another question that is commonly asked. As a general template I try to follow,
Breakfast – my opinion the most important meal

                    1) porridge (carbs)+ almond butter, eggs (protein), avocado (fats).

                    2) bulletproof breakfast- 2 cups of coffee, 2 tsp of coconut oil, 2 tsp almond butter,  Half scoop of whey protein.

                    3) bagel(carbs), eggs (protein), avocado (fats). 

Lunch – if I’m training I ensure I include some carbohydrates if I am not I leave it out. Otherwise I include protein and a little fat. 

Post workout – lots of carbs and protein.

Dinner – plenty of meat and veggies.

Everything reflects MY macro prescription on my fitness pal. 
Getting more specific with nutrition, my opinion is that the food that you eat should reflect the daily activities that you perform. If you are a very active person, who uses strength training and training at intensity as a pivotal feature of your training, eat more calories, more carbohydrates, protein and good fats its that simple, you should be eating to ensure you are fuelling your body and not causing it to break down without promoting body fat.
The list of exactly what to eat is endless. What I would suggest is try to be as creative as possible. Buy yourself some books or even better use the endless online resources to give you an idea of how to keep your meals fresh and exciting. 
My final comment is going to be about preparation. This for me is key and I try to follow the saying of ‘fail to prepare, prepare to fail’. I try to ensure I plan out my weeks meals on a Sunday. I then try to prepare my lunch for the week. I tend you cook big portions of chilli, stew, stir fry etc and then divide them into multiple portions for the week or stick them in the freezer, and then defrost when required. 

Leave a Reply

